Averett Home Page
Averett Athletics
Calendar/Events Full Listings
Averett News Full Listings
Alumna Recognized for Contributions to University

Once they leave campus, our alumni head out into this great big world to make a difference whether in the classroom, in the boardroom or in the courtroom. They take what they learned at Averett to not only better their lives, but to better the lives of others as well. Often these graduates continue to make a difference at their alma mater as well. One such alumna is Dr. Sue Davis, '75, '81, who has tirelessly worked in the Danville Public Schools for 35 years and has continued to give back to Averett.

In recognition of her continued contributions to Averett as an adjunct professor and supporter of her alma mater the University's Alumni Association presented her with the Mary Jo Davis Outstanding Alumni Award on Saturday, Jan. 22 during halftime of the men's basketball game at the University's E. Stuart James Grant Center. The Mary Jo Davis Award is presented to a graduate who has always been supportive and committed to the University.

"We're delighted to be able to recognize Dr. Davis in this way," said Dan Hayes, '92, alumni director. "She personifies the woman this award was named in recognition of, not only with her work and dedication to the children in the public school system, but her continued support of Averett as well."

During her years with the Danville Public School System she has been a teacher, an interim assistant superintendent for human resources and staff development, professional development coordinator, assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction, deputy superintendent for instruction, interim superintendent and superintendent. She has also served as an adjunct professor at Averett and an educational consultant for the counties of Halifax, Henry, Caroline and Middlesex.

Along with her work with the public school system, she is very involved in the community, and has served on numerous boards and committees including as executive board member for the Danville Literacy Council; a member of Riverview Rotary Club; a United Way board member; Virginia Tech Extension Leadership Board; the Danville-Pittsylvania County Chamber of Commerce Workforce Development Committee; and the Danville-Pittsylvania Community Policy and Management Board.

Past recipients of the award, which has been presented since 1972, include:
Dr. Belle Boone Beard, '15
Virginia B. Longest, '38
Dr. Betty Smith Cox, '45
Mary Lou Martin Barr, '28, '32
Clarence J. Grogan, '38
Mary Jo Davis, '55
E.B. "Pat" Furgurson Jr., '50
Frances Kipps Spencer, '51
Dr. Samuel Harris Love, '48
Charles S. Barbour, '50, '50
George H. Shields Jr., '42, '92
Edith Fitzpatrick James, '13
Lillian Smith George, '33
Bonnie Neff Hoover, '46
Dr. Cora Anne Davis, '56
Garland M. Wyatt, '42, '89
Harriett Wyatt, '42
Sallie M. Clark, '31
Margaret Buck Wayland, '48, '95
Lois Emily Hart, '31
Elizabeth Mitchell Walker, '80, '95
Carrie Tate Aylor, '36
Elizabeth Griggs Vipperman, '36
Frances Floyd Hayes, '35
Adice Murphey Waymack, '42
Virginia Hearn Whiting, '43
Holt Hawkins Bradley Jr., '48
Margaret Buck Wayland, '48, '95
Margaret Tyree Harding, '78
Jerry Austin Meadors, '78
Merle Puckette Herndon, '74
Martha Allgood Walker, '74
Steven E. Willis, '81
The Honorable Rossie D. Alston Jr., '79
Grace Walker Taylor, '54
Jarmo O. Saloranta, '85
Glenna Tillotson Lingafelt, '55
Deborah Wyatt Upton, '74
Rev. John V. Upton Jr., '74
Marie Riddle Harris, '68
Dr. Peggy C. Wright, '85
Gonzalee M. Ford, '58
Elizabeth "Nonie" Owen Swaim, '55
Paula Cochran Collie, '58, '71
L. "Hampton" Wilkins, '73, '87

Back to CoffeeBreak