site map
contact us
community media
  Recent Headlines
Alumnus Recognized for Dedication

Recent Graduates Find Success

Averett & DCC Announce New Partnership
  Averett and Danville Regional Medical Center Team Up to Conduct Physician Simulation Lab Exercise

MRI Golf Tournament Benefits Scholarships

New VPAA and Student Success Administrator Announced


University Recognizes Teachers of the Year

June 1, 2012

Averett University is proud to announce that 20 of its education graduates were named "Educator of the Year" for 2011-12 in their respective school systems. Alumni from six different school systems and three private schools were recognized during a special event at the home of Averett President Dr. Tiffany Franks on May 24.

Those recognized from the Caswell County Public Schools were Norma J. Allen '76 from Dillard Middle School, Sherri L. Crumpton '77 also from Dillard and DelShana D. LeGrant '09 from Oakwood Elementary School. Crumpton was also named the Middle School Educator of the Year for Caswell County.

Teachers from the Henry County Public Schools who were recognized are Mary W. Davis '96 from the Center for Community Learning, Amy D. Hairfield '98 from John Redd Smith Elementary School and Kristin R. Hearn '05 from Stanleytown Elementary School.

Recognized from the Pittsylvania County Public Schools were Wendy M. Dunevant '94, '05 who teaches at Southside Elementary School; Linda C. Gibson '76 who teaches at Gretna Elementary School; Diane F. Jones '76 who teaches at Dan River Middle School; Billy L. Shields '72 who teaches at Gretna High School and Jennifer J. Trail '10 who teaches at Dan River High School.

Alumni from the Danville Public School System who were recognized were Janice L. Guill '76 from Forest Hills Elementary School; Melissa Maxey '06 from Schoolfield Elementary School; Tiana M. Taylor '00, '03 from George Washington High School and Doris H. Thornton '01 from Woodrow Wilson Elementary School.

Recognized from the Halifax County Public School System was Virginia L. Aherron '91 who teaches at South Boston Elementary School; KiKi M. Smith '09 who teaches at Martinsville High School in the Martinsville City Public School System; from Sacred Heart School, Kimberley R. Snow '00; Harold H. Hofer '03 from Hargrave Military Academy; and Clara L. Rippe '89 from Carlisle School in Danville.

Averett is proud of its graduates and congratulates those listed above for their outstanding achievements in the field of education.