site map
contact us
community media
  Recent Headlines
Student Creates Publication for Cardiology Patients

Floyd & Marietta Smith Scholarship Awarded to Martinsville Resident

Graduate has her Dream Come True
  Averett Hosts Special Martin Luther King Jr. Community Celebration, Day of Service

Theatre Department Holding Auditions for "Noises Off"

Winter Commencement Ceremony


University Recognizes Educators of the Year

May 19, 2014

Averett University is proud to announce that 28 of its education graduates were named "Educator of the Year" for 2013-14 in their respective school systems. Alumni from seven different school systems were recognized May 14 during a special event at the home of Averett President Dr. Tiffany Franks.

Teachers from the Danville Public Schools who were recognized were Harriet Beale '76 from Northside Preschool, who was also named Educator of the Year in 2008; Yolanda Hicks '07 from Westwood Middle School; Christopher Knick '99, '03 from George Washington High School; Heather Nidiffer '08 from E.A. Gibson Elementary Middle School, who was also named Educator of the Year in 2011; Ellen Vernon '87 from Grove Park Preschool, who was also recognized in 2006, 2008 and 2011; and Robin Woodson '02 from Forest Hills Elementary School.

Those from Pittsylvania County Public Schools who were recognized were Cherie Arthur '97 from John L. Hurt Jr. Elementary School, Rebecca Crawley '01 from Chatham Middle School, Christine Dalton '05 from Gretna Middle School, Paula Faison '05 from Gretna Elementary School, Lori Jones '06 from Dan River High School, Andrew Nordon '07 from the Pittsylvania County Career & Technical Center and Patricia Porter '00 from Dan River Middle School.

Five alumni in the Henry County Public School System were recognized including Joyce Ashworth '96 from Axton Elementary School, Kimberley Clark '07, '10 from Rich Acres Elementary School, Penny Decker '86 from Bassett High School, Cynthia Finney '84 from Fieldale Collinsville Middle School, Robin Gravely '07 from the Center for Community Learning and Amy Mitchell '06, '10 from Mount Olivet Elementary School.

Alumni from two schools in the Martinsville City Public School System were recognized: Cameron Cooper '09 from Patrick Henry Elementary School and Heather Tolbut '09 from Martinsville High School.

Three alumni who teach in Halifax County were recognized: Kelly Franco '11 from Sydnor Jennings Elementary School, Mary Hamlett '85, '93 from Halifax County Middle School and Cheryl Isom '85 from Scottsburg Elementary School.

Those from Caswell County Public Schools who were recognized were Robin Loftis '06 from North Elementary School and Malinda Mitchell '95 from Oakwood Elementary School.

Teachers from Rockingham County Public Schools who were recognized were Barbara Smith '05 from Reidsville High School and Deborah Spencer '12 from Williamsburg Elementary School.

Averett is proud of its graduates and congratulates those listed above for their outstanding achievements in the field of education.