site map
contact us
community media
  Recent Headlines
University to Host One-Man Show: "A Christmas Carol"

Averett Holds Annual Christmas Celebration

Equestrian Studies Hosts CT Show

Student Club Raises Money for Lifestraw

IHSA Team Places Fourth

Barringer Emerges as Leader on, off Volleyball Court

Graduates Land Jobs

Pop Art with a Modern Twist

Artist Draws Inspiration from Family & Friends
  Theatre Department to Perform "I Never Saw Another Butterfly"

IHSA Team Wins

Miller Earns 500th Career Victory as Head Coach


New Alumni Named to Association's Executive Board

September 27, 2009

Averett's Alumni Association Executive Board is pleased to welcome six new members to its ranks. Joining the board are:

  • Torrey Dixon, '00 - Dixon is director of Fair Vote North Carolina. He lives in Raleigh and graduated from Duke Law School.

  • Kara Cocke Mohre, '98 - Mohre is the marketing director of SEMworks, a higher education consulting group. She graduated from the University of Virginia and currently lives in Greensboro.

  • James Silvey, '03 - Silvey, who lives in Danville, is owner of Xpress Printing and Shipping. He is also active with the Pi Kappa Phi Alumni Association.

  • Leslie Davis Conway, '87 - Conway is director of marketing for Well Spring Retirement Community. She previously served as alumni director at the University. She lives in Greensboro and last year hosted an alumni event with Mohre.

  • Jeanette Brown, '49 - Brown has rejoined the board, having previously served as chairperson. She lives in Chatham and last year hosted an event there.

  • Dan Cook, III, '07 - Cook, who lives in Newport, works at Virginia Tech where he is a computer systems engineer. He graduated from the University's Graduate and Professional Studies (GPS) Program and really enjoyed his Averett experience.

Other alumni who serve on the board are: Daniel P. Burns, '90; Pattie P. Cairns, '74 (chair); Carol U. Digesare, '68, '71; Wanda Bostick Jeffress, '81, '92; Petteri Lehtinen, '98; Eric C. Miller, '96; Nancy S. Perry, '72; B. Teresa Petty, '93, '96; Joe Sutliff, '85; and Meredith L. Wright, '92. Members of the board serve three year terms.

The goal of the Alumni Board is to build strong relations between alumni and the University. The association also interacts with current students to promote support of the University after they graduate.