site map
contact us
community media
  Recent Headlines
University to Host One-Man Show: "A Christmas Carol"

Averett Holds Annual Christmas Celebration

Equestrian Studies Hosts CT Show

Student Club Raises Money for Lifestraw

IHSA Team Places Fourth

Barringer Emerges as Leader on, off Volleyball Court

Graduates Land Jobs

Pop Art with a Modern Twist

Artist Draws Inspiration from Family & Friends
  Theatre Department to Perform "I Never Saw Another Butterfly"

IHSA Team Wins

Miller Earns 500th Career Victory as Head Coach


More Than 340 Grads Walk at Winter Commmencement

December 12, 2010

At Averett University's Commencement on Dec. 11 Virginia Secretary of Education Gerard Robinson addressed the more than 340 graduates present from a graduating class of more than 480. Robinson, who is a nationally-recognized expert on the modern charter school movement, was named secretary of education in January by Gov. Bob McDonnell.

"Graduates, the fact that you have persevered to this day shows the value you place on education. Families, the sacrifices you have made illustrate how much you value education," said Averett President Dr. Tiffany Franks in her introduction of Robinson. "I am truly honored today to introduce you to someone who has dedicated his professional life to education and education for all."

"This is the first opportunity I've had to speak at a Winter Commencement," said Secretary Robinson. "I can think of no better place I'd rather be for that occasion than here at Averett University."

Secretary Robinson noted how important each area of study represented by the graduates would be to the future of the region, the Commonwealth and the nation. He also emphasized the importance of a liberal arts education, for the graduates and in his personal experience.

Read the media coverage in the Danville Register & Bee.

Award Winners

Four undergraduate students were recognized for their academic excellence during their studies at Averett.

Graduate and Professional Studies Awards:

Roberto Gonzalez from Fredericksburg was recognized with the Malcolm Knowles Award for earning the highest GPA in the graduating class - BBA degree.

Lisa Eileen Tanner of Virginia Beach was recognized with the Frank R. Campbell Award for earning the second highest GPA in the graduating class - BBA degree.

Traditional Undergraduate Program Awards:

Benjamin Ernest Boatwright of Blairs was recognized with the Mary C. Fugate Award for earning the highest GPA in the graduating class - traditional program.

Andrina Emilia Schroderus of Oulu, Finland, was recognized with the Grace V. Crenshaw Award for earning the second highest GPA in the graduating class - traditional program.