site map
contact us
community media
  Recent Headlines
Student Creates Publication for Cardiology Patients

Floyd & Marietta Smith Scholarship Awarded to Martinsville Resident

Graduate has her Dream Come True
  Averett Hosts Special Martin Luther King Jr. Community Celebration, Day of Service

Theatre Department Holding Auditions for "Noises Off"

Winter Commencement Ceremony


Alumna Recognized for Contributions to University

January 31, 2011

Once they leave campus, our alumni head out into this great big world to make a difference - whether in the classroom, in the boardroom or in the courtroom. They take what they learned at Averett to not only better their lives, but to better the lives of others as well. Often these graduates continue to make a difference at their alma mater as well. One such alumna is Dr. Sue Davis, '75, '81, who has tirelessly worked in the Danville Public Schools for 35 years and has continued to give back to Averett.

In recognition of her continued contributions to Averett as an adjunct professor and supporter of her alma mater the University's Alumni Association presented her with the Mary Jo Davis Outstanding Alumni Award on Saturday, Jan. 22 during halftime of the men's basketball game at the University's E. Stuart James Grant Center. The Mary Jo Davis Award is presented to a graduate who has always been supportive and committed to the University.

"We're delighted to be able to recognize Dr. Davis in this way," said Dan Hayes, '92, alumni director. "She personifies the woman this award was named in recognition of, not only with her work and dedication to the children in the public school system, but her continued support of Averett as well."

During her years with the Danville Public School System she has been a teacher, an interim assistant superintendent for human resources and staff development, professional development coordinator, assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction, deputy superintendent for instruction, interim superintendent and superintendent. She has also served as an adjunct professor at Averett and an educational consultant for the counties of Halifax, Henry, Caroline and Middlesex.

Along with her work with the public school system, she is very involved in the community, and has served on numerous boards and committees including as executive board member for the Danville Literacy Council; a member of Riverview Rotary Club; a United Way board member; Virginia Tech Extension Leadership Board; the Danville-Pittsylvania County Chamber of Commerce Workforce Development Committee; and the Danville-Pittsylvania Community Policy and Management Board.

Past recipients of the award, which has been presented since 1972, include:
Mary Lou Martin Barr, '28, '32
Mary Jo Davis, '55
E.B. "Pat" Furgurson Jr., '50
George H. Shields Jr., '42, '92
Garland M. Wyatt, '42, '89
Harriett Wyatt, '42
Martha Allgood Walker, '74
The Honorable Rossie D. Alston Jr., '79
Deborah Wyatt Upton, '74
Rev. John V. Upton Jr., '74
L. "Hampton" Wilkins, '73, '87