site map
contact us
community media
  Recent Headlines
Theatre Department to Hold Auditions for "Sweet Charity"

Arts@Averett Series to Host AndJam Trio

Student Creates Publication for Cardiology Patients

Floyd & Marietta Smith Scholarship Awarded to Martinsville Resident
  Averett Hosts Special Martin Luther King Jr. Community Celebration, Day of Service

Theatre Department Holding Auditions for "Noises Off"

Graduate has her Dream Come True


Students Recognized During April Honors Banquet

April 21, 2011

Averett University held its annual Honors Banquet on April 5 at the E. Stuart James Grant & Convocation Center. Over the course of the evening, students from the various departments were recognized for their academic achievements.

Awards given out that evening include:
Eagle Award (Aeronautics) - Ryan Patrick Dorris and Tanmay Gautam Patel

Outstanding Aviation Student (Aeronautics) - Andrew Joseph Falciani Jr., '10

Russell C. Brachman Biology Award - Ariola Bardhi

Outstanding Business Student - Joseph Andrew Kelly

Outstanding Communication/Journalism Student - Ashley Elizabeth Jackson

Teachers of Promise - Michelle Sherman Bloomer, Wendy Hudgins Brooks, Jessica Marie Cartwright, '10, Jasmine Renee Gravely, Charles Stephens Hill, Erin R. Hylton, Kirsten Leigh Marvin, '10, Kathryn Paige Mills, Katie Jordan Shields, Ashlyn Elizabeth Tucker

Delta Kappa Gamma Virginia Scholars Award (Education) - Katie Jordan Shields

Outstanding English Student - Kathleen Frances Ross

IDA National Champion - Laura Elaine Thompson

Outstanding Equestrian Studies Award - Christina Marie Fiebeck, Valerie Elizabeth Harr

Rider of Promise - Laura Angela Borges

Outstanding Mathematics Award - Irvin L. Betts and Kathryn Paige Mills

Norma Roady Senior Academic Excellence Award (Physical Education) - Shannon Kathleen Andy

Outstanding Student in Psychology - Jordan Elisabeth Wilson

Junior Colleague Award in Psychology - Courtney Anne Powell

Outstanding Student in Sociology - Mirva Elina Toivonen

Alpha Chi Scholarship to sophomore with highest GPA - Whitney Rose Bronson

Ember (Literary & Arts Magazine) - Keith Wayne Arendall, Spencer Todd Bennington, Jessica Nicole Cox, Jasmine Garcia, Jessie Taylor Henderson, Sarah Michelle Jones, Jamie Lynn Overbey, Bobby Allen Roach, Kathleen Frances Ross and Brian Christopher Jones