site map
contact us
community media
  Recent Headlines
Theatre Department to Hold Auditions for "Sweet Charity"

Arts@Averett Series to Host AndJam Trio

Student Creates Publication for Cardiology Patients

Floyd & Marietta Smith Scholarship Awarded to Martinsville Resident
  Averett Hosts Special Martin Luther King Jr. Community Celebration, Day of Service

Theatre Department Holding Auditions for "Noises Off"

Graduate has her Dream Come True


Averett Recognizes Faculty & Staff at Luncheon

May 17, 2011

Averett University recognized its faculty and staff during a special luncheon April 28. Following lunch, the University recognized members of the faculty and staff for their years of service and the Outstanding Faculty and Outstanding Staff members of the year.

Those recognized for having worked at the University for 10 years were Head Football Coach Mike Dunlevy, Coordinator of Development Services Diane Gosney, Administrative Assistant to Director of Alumni Relations Sherry McDowell, Director of Admissions & International Counselor Joel Nester, Associate Professor of Education Dr. Lynn Wolf and Associate Professor of Graduate Business Administration Dr. Jeff Woo.

For having worked 15 years at the University, those recognized include Theatre Professor Richard Breen, Payroll/Benefits Coordinator Faye Dix, Head Baseball Coach Ed Fulton and Academic Advisor for the Graduate and Professional Studies (GPS) Program Erma Neveu.

For having worked 20 years at the University, those recognized were Head Volleyball Coach and Assistant Athletic Director Danny Miller, Coordinator of Faculty Services Carter Neal and Professor of Computer Science and Mathematics Dr. Gary Tucker.

For having worked 25 years at the University, those recognized were Assistant Professor of Equestrian Studies Jane Faulkner, Cashier/Coordinator of Supplies/Purchasing Rose Holley and Director of Study Abroad Dr. Larry Wilburn.

For having worked 30 years at the University, those recognized were Psychology Professor Dr. Jean Hatten, English Professor Dr. Betty Heard, Associate Professor of Business Administration Vince Kania and Associate Professor of Mathematics & Computer Science Steve Lemery.

For having worked 35 years at the University, Dr. Gail Allen, professor of music was recognized.

Three people retired from the University this year including Dr. John Laughlin, religion professor, Heard and Dr. Charles "Chuck" Layne, director of graduate education for the GPS Program.

Averett faculty, staff, students and alumni nominate faculty and staff members for the Outstanding Faculty and Outstanding Staff members of the year. Then a committee comprised of faculty, staff and students selects the recipient for each award. This year's Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year was Steve Lemery and the Outstanding Staff Member of the Year was Linda Lemery, circulation manager in the library.