Academic Departments Recognize Outstanding Students

Posted on April 7th, 2016 by Emily Tomlinson

Every spring, Averett holds a special event to honor and recognize students for their academic achievements. This year, the Honors Recognition Program was held Sunday, April 3 in Pritchett Auditorium. During the event, 13 of the academic departments recognized their outstanding majors. In addition, The Ember, the university’s creative magazine, presented contributors with awards; and the Dean of Students, the Honors Program and student group Enactus presented awards.

Following is a list of the 2015-16 award winners:


Russell C. Brachman Biology Award: Safeera Khan


Business Administration:

Outstanding Student in Business Administration: Brooke Nicole Miller


Communication Studies/Journalism:

Outstanding Communication Studies/Journalism Student: Erin Gusler

Chanticleer Service Award:  Brianna Shelton


Computer Science:

Computer Information Systems Student of the Year:  Matthew Plum

Outstanding Student in Computer Science:  Alex Redmon



Delta Kappa Gamma Virginia Scholars Award: Caitlin Whitfield


Evelyn Miller Scholarship:

Jonna Koski

Claire Burnette

Taylor Gauldin


Mary C. Fugate Scholarship Award:

Morgan Jones

Jordan Dallas


Virginia Teachers of Promise:

Kimberly Matherly

Taylor Gauldin

Ashley Lazo

Claire Burnette

Caitlin Whitfield



Outstanding Student in English Award: Lexus Khan


Equestrian Studies:

Outstanding Equestrian Studies Award: Samantha Dobbins

Equestrian Studies Academic Honors Award: Allie Crouse



Outstanding Mathematics Award: Kimberly Renee Matherly


Modern Languages:

Outstanding Student in French: Taylor Gauldin

Outstanding Student in Spanish:  Krystal Hankins

Modern Languages Scholar Award: Jawad Essakri



The Alexander and Violet Allen Choral Award: Adeline Bova



Highest GPA Award: Mary Carter and Sophia Graveley

Leadership Award: Clare Daniel

Nursing Faculty Award: Samantha Hall


Physical Education:

Norma Roady Award:  Nicole Garcia


Sociology/Criminal Justice:

Outstanding Student in Criminal Justice:  Hannah Glover


Dean of Students Awards:

Outstanding Student Organization Award: AU Health Crew

Unsung Hero Award: Stephanie Bradford

Student Leader of the Year Award: Jessie Gomes


Enactus Outstanding Leadership Award:

Veronica Carter


Honors Program:

Virginia Collegium Scholar Award: Alex Argentieri


Ember Awards:

Award of Merit in Photography: Zuri Lamper for “Monumental”

Award of Merit in Fine Art: Quienton Greear for “Self Portrait of Mr. Greear”

Award of Merit in Poetry: Zuri Lamper for “Household Items”

Award of Merit in Prose: James Murphy for “Milo’s Monster

First Place in Written Composition: Brooke Cavalier for “Out of the Closet”

First Place in Visual Composition: Kiara Hunt for “Into Color”