Honors Recognition Program Celebrates Student Academic Achievements

Posted on April 11th, 2017 by Danielle Staub

Every spring, Averett holds a special event to honor and recognize students for their academic achievements. This year, the Honors Recognition Program was held Monday, Apr. 10, in Pritchett Auditorium.

Following is a list of the 2016-17 award winners:

Dean of Students Awards:

Emerging Leader: Joshua Davis

Outstanding Student Organization Award: Alpha Sigma Phi

Unsung Hero Award: Brandon Veasey

Student Leader of the Year Award: Lindsay Fulcher

Advisor of the Year of a club or organization: Taylor Mahaffey

Student Success Mentor: Tyler Henley


Russell C. Brachman Biology Award: Alex Argentieri and Jessica Long

Business Administration:

Outstanding Student in Business Administration: Brooke Nicole Miller

Honorable mention for the 2016-2017 Academic Year: Amanda M. Arnold, Taylor Wellyn Booze and Olivia Kathryn Adkins

Communication Studies/Journalism:

Outstanding Communication Studies/Journalism Student: Jada Little

Chanticleer Service Award: Clarice Ellinger

Computer Science:

Student of the Year in Computer Information Systems Award: Charles Bryant

Coding King of Computer Science Award: Dan Caccavelli


Delta Kappa Gamma Virginia Scholars Award: Brooke Collins

Evelyn Miller Scholarship: Elizabeth Hutson, Brooke Griffin and Heather Johnston

Mary C. Fugate Scholarship Award: Brittany Custer and Hannah Mattson

Virginia Teachers of Promise: Brandon Couden, Brooke Collins, Magin Sparks, Kristin Hutson and Abigail Shelton


Outstanding Student in English Award: Emily Budd

Equestrian Studies:

Outstanding Equestrian Studies Award: Hannah Walters

Equestrian Studies Academic Honors Award: Amanda Arnold


Outstanding Mathematics Award: Daniel Caccavelli, Brandon Couden and Frida Lundquist

Modern Languages:

Outstanding Student in French: Kathryn “Lanie” Davis

Outstanding Student in Spanish: Kaitlyn Moran

Outstanding Student in Modern Languages: Frida Lundquist


Highest GPA Award: Mary Carter, Taylor Hamlett and Jaclyn Williams

Leadership Award: Karen Sampson

Nursing Faculty Award: Sunshine Smith

Physical Education:

Norma Roady Award: Mr. John Hazelwood


Outstanding Achievement in Psychology: Liliana Pierce

Honors Program:

Virginia Collegium Scholar Award: Brittany Parham

Dr. William S. Trakas Honors Award: Alex Argentier