Fifteen Averett Alumni Educators Honored in Two Celebrations This Week

Posted on May 11th, 2018 by Cassie Jones

For the past decade, Averett University has produced more than 250 teachers in the region who have gone on to be voted Teacher of the Year for the school in which they work. Averett honored this year’s 15 alumni recipients at a reception on Wednesday, May 9.

This year’s honorees work in school systems throughout the cities of Danville and Martinsville and counties of Caswell, Halifax, Henry, Pittsylvania and Rockingham. The group was recognized at a ceremony in the E. Stuart James Grant Center, attended by University employees and alumni, along with superintendents from multiple school districts.

“Averett University’s Professional Education Program consistently trains high-performing educators who make a real difference in the lives of their students,” said Dr. Sue Davis, chair of Averett’s education department and director of teacher education. “For our graduates, it is indeed an honor to be recognized, and it is notable that Averett’s regional influence continues.”

The Danville Pittsylvania County Chamber of Commerce annually awards one teacher from every school within its districts as Educator of the Year. Fifteen of the recipients were Averett alumni, who were recognized alongside their peers at the Chamber’s Annual Awards Dinner on Monday, May 7.

“I was a bit surprised that they kept up with alumni in this way, and it made me feel special that they took time to recognize our achievements,” said Jodie Thompson Hall ’08, former Averett Education major who teaches third grade at Axton Elementary School in Henry County. “My students were really excited when they heard I was being honored.”

The alumni Averett celebrated at its ceremony include:

Stacey R. Boswell ’96
Southside Elementary School

Tania D. Compton ’07
Drewry Mason Elementary School

Denise M. Dallas ’96
Tunstall High School

Mitzi D. Gibson ’11
W.W. Moore Education Program

Lori B. Glass ’99
Twin Springs Elementary School

Amy D. Hairfield ’98
John Redd Smith Elementary School

Ellen G. Mayhew ’05
Mt. Airy Elementary School

Denna G. Ramsey ’87
Sanville Elementary School

Briana D. Scott ’13
Albert Harris Elementary School

Angela C. Smith ’93, ’04
Park Avenue Elementary School

Shelley R. Snead ’96
E.A. Gibson Elementary School

Jodie A. Thompson ’08
Axton Elementary School

Sherry T. Walker ’11
Woodberry Hills Elementary School

Jessica L. Worsham ’09
Forest Hills Elementary School

Virginia A. Wyatt ’10
Chatham Elementary School

Averett offers a traditional baccalaureate education program with preparation for licensure in almost 15 certifications and an optional minor in special education, as well as four online programs in graduate-level programs through its Graduate and Professional Studies program. Averett’s teacher education program consistently places nearly 100 percent of its graduates in teaching positions.

“I take pride that I went to Averett,” said Hall.