Current Student Activities Groups

Club Forms

Clubs and Organizations at Averett University Spring 2019

Academic Honor Societies

  • Alpha Chi National Honor Society
  • Alpha Kappa Delta Honor Society
  • Alpha Psi Omega
  • Beta Beta Beta National Biological Honor  Society
  • Chi Alpha Sigma, A Student-Athlete Honor Society
  • Kappa Delta Pi International Education Honor Society
  • Sigma Beta Delta
  • Theta Alpha Kappa

Arts, Music & Drama

Averett Players
President: Reilly Cooper
Advisor: Richard Breen, 434-791-5711, rbreen@averett.edu
To engage and entertain our fellow students of Averett University as well as the community, through performing arts and community service.

Creative’s Corner
President: Christine Johnson
Advisor: Ann Charles, 434-791-5775, cwilliane@averett.edu
To unite creatives across campus and have them work harmoniously to produce a powerful and entailing body of work.

P.R.O.O.F.
President: Jenique Martin
Advisor: Lee Roy Johnson, 434-791-7246, ltjohnson@averett.edu
To create a safe and friendly environment that encourages members and all welcome to show case/practice their art form.

Multicultural

Anime Club
President: Afia Nyantakyi
Advisor: Christopher Walton, cbwalton@averett.edu
The purpose of the Anime Club is to provide an environment, where people can view, discuss, and learn about anime and about Japanese culture, as well as make friends with people who have a similar interest.

Averett Veterans Club (inactive)
Advisor: Janet Roberson, 434-791-5891, roberson@averett.edu

Black Student Union (BSU)
President: Isaiah Howard
Advisor: Lance Moore, ljmoore@averett.edu
The purpose of Black Student Union (BSU) is to educate the Averett University students and community on African American culture. In addition, it allows members to share and learn how the world affects us on a daily basis. BSU members are also role models on campus and in the community by continually following the clubs  5 key concepts: Professionalism, Education, Situational—Problem Solving, Spirituality, and Unity.

Brother4Brother
President: Xavier Augilar
Advisor: Lance Moore, ljmoore@averett.edu
The Brother4Brother program is a success-focused program in which young men learn to conduct themselves in a mature manner, discover ways to engage themselves in the Averett community and beyond, and develop the skills and attitude required to be successful—both at Averett and in their chosen career.

Rainbow Club
President: Trysten Wiggins-Fralin
Advisor: Shelbilyn Boelsche, seboelsche@averett.edu
The Rainbow Club is a diverse group of people of all sexualities and genders coming together to celebrate both our similarities and differences. We promote the acceptance of everyone. Our mission is to educate and share positivity to all. We strive to create a community where anyone can feel safe. Overall, love is love.

Sister4Sister
President: Ravyn Johnson
Advisor: Aquayla Swann, 434-791-7230, asswann@averett.edu
Advisor: Toshina Jessamy, tyjessamy@averett.edu
Encourage young women of Averett University to take a stand in their community, developing confidence in all aspects of life while uplifting one another side by side through adversity.

Religious Life

Catholic Campus Ministry
President: Rosie Anderson
Advisor: Joan Kahwajy-Anderson, 434-791-5624, jkahwajy@averett.edu
Catholic Campus Ministry at Averett University is a Christian organization focused on cultivating a strong positive presence on campus through acts of community service, peer- led prayer groups and events, and fellowship with Averett students, faculty, and staff.

Christian Student Fellowship
President: Jon Stephens
Advisor: Skyler Daniel, 434-791-7104, sdaniel@averett.edu
“Our mission is to love one another as God has loved us and thereby point people to Jesus. As Jesus said, ‘This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you’ (John 15:12).”

Academic and Pre-Professional

Athletic Training Club (inactive)

Criminal Justice Club
President: Maya Hairston
Advisor: John Wilt, jbwilt@averett.edu
Provide Averett students with criminal justice career choices. Provide networking opportunities in all areas of the criminal justice field. Discuss criminal justice issues and current events and criminal justice agency contact information.

Flight Team (inactive)

Greek Life

Kappa Alpha Psi
President: Devin Merritt
Advisor: Lee Roy Johnson, ltjohnson@averett.edu
The Fraternity’s fundamental purpose is achievement. Fashioning achievement as its purpose, Kappa Alpha Psi began uniting college men of culture, patriotism and honor in a bond of fraternity. Rho Kappa (Averett Colony) came to the campus of Averett University on November 4, 2018.

Kappa Delta Alpha
President: Bailey Hoffman
Advisor: Stephanie Smith, spsmith@averett.edu
A local sorority to promote sisterhood and a family environment on Averett’s campus.

Pi Kappa Zeta
President: Triston Kechter
Advisor: Jawoin Williams, 434-791-7231, jnwilliams@averett.edu
This Fraternity shall be composed of male persons of good moral character, who believe in the principles of good citizenship, are pursuing a course of study at Averett University, and are not members of any other general college fraternity.

Public Service

Love Danville Higher Education Council
Chair: Bethany Powell
Vice Chair: Ashley Thornton
Advisor: Tia Yancey, tyancey@averett.edu
Advisor: Brianna Shelton, bnshelton@averett.edu
The Love Danville Council engages with the local community through volunteering, meeting with community leaders, and teaching college students and others how to Love Where You Live!

National Society of Leadership and Success
President: Jared Mincey
Advisor: Aquayla Swann, asswann@averett.edu
We are the nation’s largest leadership honor society, where top students, nominated by their colleges, come together to identify and achieve their goals.

Planeteer Club
President: Norah Hopkins
Advisor: Laura Meder, laura.meder@averett.edu
We are a group of dedicated students that want to improve our local environment quality by reducing the amount of trash polluting our streams, rivers, roads, and forest.

Sports and Recreations

Blue Crew (inactive)
Advisor: David Fernandes, dhfernandes@averett.edu
To gather students together for the main goal of supporting our student athletes in a safe and        fun environment.

Outdoors Club (inactive)

Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC)
President: Emily Stanley
Advisor: Emma Olsson, 434-791-5700, eeolsson@averett.edu
The purpose and mission of this organization is to represent student athletes and serve as a voice of the student athlete body at Averett University.